



Supervisor's Room

January 8<sup>th</sup>, 2019

The Harlan County Board of Supervisor's met for Reorganization in the Supervisors room of the Courthouse. Present were Dist. #1 Chris Schluntz, Dist. #2 Max Schultz, Dist. #3 Lonny Hanna, Dist. #4 Cindy Boehler, Dist. #5 Jeff Bash, Dist. #6 Traci Dietz, and Dist. #7 Bill Hogeland. Also present were County Treasurer Sandy Artz, Deputy Clerk Deb Jensen, and County Road/Weed Superintendent Tim Burgeson, and Angie Belware, Harlan County Journal. County Clerk Janet Dietz took all proceedings, while the convened meeting was open to the public. Notice of Reorganizational meeting of the Harlan County Board of Supervisors was given to all Board members, Harlan County Journal.

Janet Dietz, County Clerk called the meeting to order at 10:11 a.m. and stated that the Open Meeting Act is posted in the room and followed by the Board.

The County Clerk called for nominations from the floor for Chairman of the Harlan County Board of Supervisors. (2019-2020). Supervisor Max Schultz nominated Traci Dietz, Clerk called (2) times for any other nominations, none were given. Clerk closed the nominations. Clerk asked Supervisor Dietz if she would accept the nomination, Dietz accepted. Supervisor Bash so moved for a unanimous motion to elect Traci Dietz as Chairman. Roll call votes, (with Dietz abstaining) all ayes. Motion carried. Clerk turned the meeting over to Chairman Dietz. Chairman Dietz nominated Max Schultz for Vice-Chairman, with no further nominations, nominations ceased. M. Schultz accepted the nomination. Jeff Bash so moved for a unanimous roll call vote for M. Schultz as Vice Chairman. Roll call votes, (with Schultz abstaining) all ayes. Motion carried.

Sandy Artz, Harlan County Treasurer requested that the following financial institutions be designated as official depositories of Harlan County funds;

First State Bank, Alma, NE,68920, Heritage Bank, Orleans, NE 68966, Community Bank, Alma NE, 68920, and Stamford NE, 68977, Commercial State Bank, Republican City NE. 68971 and Banner Capital Bank, Alma NE 68920. A motion was made by J. Bash second by M. Schultz to approve depositories. Roll call votes all ayes. Motion carried.

Designation of legal newspaper for Harlan County, and Harlan County website, (harlancounty.ne.gov) as a source of publication were reviewed. Motion was made by C. Boehler, 2nd by B. Hogeland to approve the





Harlan County Journal as the legal newspaper for Harlan County. Roll call votes, all ayes. Motion carried. Motion made by J. Bash and 2<sup>nd</sup> by B. Hogeland to approve the Harlan County website as a source of publication. Roll call votes, all ayes. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on appointment of Harlan County Road Superintendent. Motion was made by Hanna, 2<sup>nd</sup> by M. Schultz to reappoint Tim Burgeson for 2019. Roll call votes, all ayes. Motion carried.

Committees were discussed and reviewed. Chairman Dietz will finalize committee members at the meeting next week.

Chairman Dietz declared the reorganizational meeting adjourned at 10:32 am. Next meeting is Tuesday January 15th, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in the Supervisors room of the Courthouse.

Attest, Janet Dietz

Traci Dietz, Chairman

Harlan County Clerk

Harlan County Board of Supervisors

(harlancounty.ne.gov)