

Harlan County Board Minutes



Supervisor's Room

January 9th, 2018

The Harlan County Board of Supervisor's met for reorganization in the Supervisors room of the Courthouse. Present were Dist. #1 JD. Schluntz; Dist. #2 M. Schultz; Dist. # 3 Hanna; Dist. #4 Metzger; Dist. #5 Horwart; Dist. #6 Dietz; Dist. #7 Dunse. Also present were County Treasurer Diane Grotfeld, County Assessor Kim Wessels, and County Road/Weed Superintendent Tim Burgeson, and Deputy Clerk, Deb Jensen. County Clerk Janet Dietz took all proceedings, while the convened meeting was open to the public. Notice of reorganizational meeting of the Harlan County Board of Supervisors was given to all Board members and the Harlan County Journal.

Janet Dietz, County Clerk called the Harlan County Board of Reorganization meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. and stated that the Open Meeting Act is posted in the room and followed by the Board.

The County Clerk called for nominations from the floor for Chairman of the Harlan County Board of Supervisors. Supervisor Lonny Hanna nominated Doug Horwart, Supervisor JD Schluntz nominated Traci Dietz, Clerk called (2) times for any other nominations, none were given, Clerk closed the nominations. Clerk asked Horwart and Dietz if they accepted the nomination, both accepted. Clerk presented the Supervisors with "ballots". Each member was given a "ballot" and instructed to write down the name for Chairman. Deputy Clerk and County Treasurer then counted the "ballots", Traci Dietz (4) and Doug Horwart (3). Clerk called for a motion to elect Traci Dietz as Chairman. Supervisor JD. Schluntz made a motion to elect Traci Dietz as Chairman, for (1) year second by Max Schultz, roll call votes, District's #1-2-6-7 yes, District's #3-4-5 no. Motion carried. Supervisor Traci Dietz is Chairperson for 2018. Chairperson Dietz called for nominations for Vice Chairman, Supervisor Dunse nominated Supervisor Horwart, then Supervisor Max Schultz nominated Gary Dunse and Supervisor Dunse declined to accept the nomination. Chairperson Dietz asked for any other nominations, none were given, nominations were closed. Supervisor



Harlan County Board Minutes



Horwart accepted the nomination. With no other nominations, roll call votes were, #1-yes,#2-yes,#3-yes,#4-yes, #-5 Horwart-abstain, #7-yes, and Chairman # 6 yes. Motion carried.

Designation of legal newspaper for Harlan County, and Harlan County website, (harlancounty.ne.gov) as a source of publication were reviewed. Motion was made by M. Schultz, 2nd by Metzger to approve the Harlan County Journal as the legal newspaper and the Harlan County website as a source of publication. Roll call votes, all ayes. Motion carried.

Diane Grotfeld, Harlan County Treasurer requested that the following financial institutions be designated as official depositories of Harlan County funds;

First State Bank, Alma, NE, a branch of First State Bank, Loomis, NE, 68958, Heritage Bank, Orleans, NE 68966, First State Bank- Community Bank, Alma NE, 68920, and Stamford NE, 68977. Commercial State Bank, Republican City NE. 68971 and Banner Capital Bank, Alma NE 68920. A motion was made by Hanna second by Dunse to approve depositories. Roll call votes all ayes. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on appointment of Harlan County Road Superintendent. Motion was made by Metzger, 2nd by Horwart to reappoint Tim Burgeson for 2018. Roll call votes, all ayes. Motion carried.

Discussion was turned to setting salaries for elected official's term 2019-2022. Five (5) resolutions were submitted. Motion made by Hanna, 2nd by Horwart to accept Resolution #5 (revised by Supervisor Dunse). JD Schluntz made a motion to amend Hanna's motion, to delete the COLA in the elected official's salary resolution. JD Schluntz's motion died for a lack of a second. Roll call votes on the original motion, Supervisor's #5, yes, #1, no, #7-yes, #2, no, #3-yes, #4-yes and #6-yes. Motion carried.

Committees were discussed. Chairperson Dietz stated she will appoint committee members at the meeting next week.

Chairperson Dietz declared the reorganizational meeting adjourned at 10:15 am. Next meeting is Tuesday January 16th, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. in the Supervisors room of the Courthouse. An agenda is on file at the Clerk's Office.



Harlan County Board Minutes



Attest, Janet Dietz Traci Dietz, Chairperson

Harlan County Clerk Harlan County Board of Supervisors

(harlancounty.ne.gov)